Cape Eagle Owl Bubo capensis

Cape Eagle Owl
Makinder's Eagle Owl
Makinder's Cape Eagle Owl
The Cape Eagle Owl has 3 subspecies: the nominal native to the southern part of South Africa, Makinder's Eagle Owl (B. c. makinderi, shown) native to East Africa to northern South Africa, and B. c. dilloni native from North Africa through to Arabia. Makinder's, the largest and most rufus, is sometimes treated as a separate species, B. makinderi.